Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Mandolin Picks

Mandolin Picks 14 years 9 months ago #1340

I've been using guitar picks since I started playing mandolin but Doug C. in class said why wasn't I using a mandolin pick. I didn't really know there was such an animal. I see couple on first quality. They are really thick 1.0 and 1.5's and Doug mentioned a Dawg pick.

I kind of like a thin .5 guitar pick when I'm chopping. It's lets me strum very fast and its quiet enough not to be too obnoxious. On the other hand, I like a hard 1.0 when I play lead so that it can be heard across the room. I was going to try putting the pick I wasn't using in my mouth and switching back and forth. This assumes that I'm not doing a vocal but then again I could let it hang off my lip like a toothpick when I'm singing.

Maybe I could start a line of flavored guitar and mandolin picks.
  • axelhead
  • Senior Boarder
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Mandolin Picks 14 years 9 months ago #1341

Gerry, you could sew a pick bandoleer in your strap, then all you have to do is reach over and grab one. Of course, you have to be fast so you don't break rhythm. When you're ready to cut loose on a lead, toss the soft pick to your adoring fans in the crowd, an arm yourself with the thicker pick.
Or you could simply epoxy or plastic weld 2 picks back to back, then all you have to do is a quick flip to get the right pick for the right style of playing. A seamless pick swap! I'll bet you don't even break rhythm doing the swap! (Gerry, we could patent this!)
  • Dave2311
  • Platinum Boarder
Dave

Re:Mandolin Picks 14 years 9 months ago #1343